Peach Cobbler

One of the things I look forward to when our favorite farm stand opens each summer is the fresh Georgia peaches they bring in. These are not your average grocery store peach–there is nothing like them! My two year old eats at least one a day, sometimes two. Is there anything sweeter than a toddler with a face full of a juicy, ripe peach?

That’s what I thought.

But this week, I bought too many peaches. Since I had four that were starting to go bad I decided to try peach cobbler. I have never even eaten a cobbler to my knowledge so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I checked out a few recipes and this is what I came up with:

1. Melt 1 stick of butter and pour it into the bottom of a 2 quart baking dish.
2. In a separate bowl, mix together 1 cup sugar, 1 cup flour, 2 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt.
3. Stir in 1 cup of milk and 1 tsp. of vanilla.
4. Pour this mixture over the melted butter.
5. Toss 4-5 slices peaches with 2 tsp sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon.
6. Bake at 375 for about 35 minutes, until the crust is brown and pulling away from the sides of the pan.

YUM. I always imagined cobbler to be more of a biscuity crust but it wasn’t. The batter rises over the peaches and forms this gooey, sticky, chewy crust. My 5 year old, who was not excited about this dessert because he doesn’t like peaches, asked if we could “always” have this for dessert. The only thing missing was vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

