Sloppy Janes

Since it’s just me and the kids 5 nights out of 7 I am always on the hunt for easy home cooked recipes that the kids will eat and I will enjoy, too. My 5 year old especially is pretty picky and almost always whines and says “ewe” to just about anything home cooked that I put in front of him. There is nothing more depressing than cooking for yourself and 2 little kids and having them reject what you made. To avoid the battle, I end up falling back on “kid” food–mac & cheese from a box, pizza, grilled cheese, etc.

This week my friend sent me a slow cooker recipe for sloppy “janes,” or vegetarian sloppy joes, claiming even her pickiest kid gobbled it up. I decided to give it a shot yesterday. It was the perfect night for a crock pot recipe because we had swimming class till 5:30 so it was great to come home and not have to scramble to get dinner going.And…drum roll…both kids chowed it! I think they liked the sweetness of the sauce, but could it be any more nutritious?

1 chopped onion

2-3 cloves garlic

1 cup each diced carrots and celery

2/3 cups each brown lentils and brown rice–uncooked

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp mustard

salt and red pepper to taste

30 oz stock

1 15 oz can tomato sauce or pureed tomatoes

Throw everything in the crock pot except the tomatoes. Cook on high for 4 hours. Dump in the tomatoes and cook for 30 mins more. Serve it on hard rolls or it totally works as a rice & lentil bowl meal, too. Next time I might sneak some pureed greens in.

One response to “Sloppy Janes

  1. That sounds good!
    I always forget about lentils—and my crockpot. I printed this one out and put it in my to try pile.

Leave a Reply

