Another black bean salad

Can’t wait to try the black bean mango salsa, Sara! It so happens that I also made a black bean salsa recently for a potluck at my son’s school. I threw it together spontaneously with things I almost always have on hand. Apparently it went over very well and the school principle tracked me down the next day asking for the recipe.

2 cans black beans (rinsed and drained)

1 can sweet corn kernels (rinsed and drained)

1/2 red onion, slivered (or scallions if you prefer)

1 ripe but still firm avocado, diced

2-3 tbps chopped cilantro

1-2 cloves garlic

juice of 1 lime

1/4 cup olive oil

salt/pepper to taste

Mix everything together and chill for an hour. Makes a great side, relish, taco filling etc. I made it again at home and ate it for lunch over spinach greens with some shredded cheddar on top–yum! It would also be great with a cup of quinoa or cous cous mixed in for a heartier salad.

One response to “Another black bean salad

  1. You had mentioned this salad . . . maybe that’s what inspired me to seek out the black beans for my mango.

Leave a Reply

